Organizational Structure

C-QuIPS is an Extra-Departmental Unit (EDU) within the University of Toronto. Specifically, it is an EDU: C, as we do not appoint faculty, nor do we have student admitted directly to us or grant degrees ( Consistent with the model for other multi-departmental academic units at the University of Toronto, the Governance of the Centre for Patient Safety consists of an Executive Committee and an Advisory Council.

organizational structure


Current Executive Board Members
• Dr. Adalsteinn D. Brown, Director, Institute of Health Policy, Management, and Evaluation
• Dr. Michael Apkon, President and CEO, Hospital for Sick Children
• Dr. Barry McLellan, President and CEO, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
• Dr. Robert Howard, President and CEO, St. Michael's Hospital
• Dr. Cheryl Regehr, Vice-Provost, Academic Programs, University of Toronto (originally on Board in capacity as Dean of Social Work)
• Dr. Sioban Nelson, Vice-Provost University of Toronto (formerly Dean of Nursing)

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre Advisory Committee
• Dr. Andrew J. Smith, Executive Vice President and the Chief Medical Executive
• Ru Taggar, Executive Vice-President, Quality Improvement and Patient Safety, Executive Vice-President, Health Professions & Chief, Nursing 
• Dr. Brian Cuthbertson, Chief, Department of Critical Care Medicine
• Dr. Ari Zaretsky, Chief, Department of Psychiatry
• Dr. Barbara Liu, Executive Director, Regional Geriatric Program of Toronto
• Board Member/Patient Representative - previously Marcia Visser, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Executive Board Member and Chair of the Board's Quality SubCommittee; replacement to be determined in Fall 2017

The Hospital for Sick Children Advisory Committee Member
• Jeff Mainland, Executive Vice President, Strategy, Quality, Performance and Communications
• Marilyn Monk, Executive Vice President, Clinical Programs & Services
• Peter Laussen, Co-chair M&M Committee
• Karim Jessa - Chief Medical Informatics Officer
• Rick Wray, Director, Quality Management and Infection Prevention and Control
• Pam Hubley, Chief, Professional Practice and Nursing
• Dr. Ron Laxer, Staff Rheumatologist (formerly VP Medical Affairs)
• Rita Damignani, Quality Analyst / Patient Safety Coordinator